FileAudit Documentation
FileAudit Documentation
You are here: Upgrade procedure

Upgrade procedure

FileAudit provides a direct shortcut to launch the console in the Windows Explorer Context Menu. This shortcut can request a reboot when an upgrade of FileAudit is performed. To avoid any reboot, check that:

  • No other session is open on the system when launching the upgrade process.

  • The Windows Explorer Context Menu has not been launched on the current session. If this is the case, or if you have any doubt, close the session and reopen it. Do not use the Explorer Context Menu until the upgrade is finished.

​Use the following procedure to backup the configuration files and database before an upgrade:

  1. Stop the FileAudit service.
  2. Make a copy of the database if you are using the default MS Access database included in the File Audit package. You can find the file FileAudit.mdb in C:\ProgramData\ISDecisions\FileAudit\Database. If you are using other database, then just launch your usual backup tool for this operation.
  3. Make a copy of the Default.xml file found in C:\ProgramData\ISDecisions\FileAudit
  4. Make a copy of your scheduled report tasks in C:\ProgramData\ISDecisions\Tasks
    • All files "FileAudit task for [your schedules report name].xml"
    • Export the scheduled task in the Microsoft Task Scheduler that are related to FileAudit (they have the names "FileAudit task for ..."). Important, keep the name of the scheduled task when exporting.

Minor version upgrade

From a version 4.x to a version 4.x, 5.x to a version 5.x, including 'Beta' and 'Release candidate' version.

Launch the installation process for the new version without uninstalling the previous one. All components will be automatically updated. After the installation is finished, the new version of FileAudit will be fully operational.

Major version upgrade

From version 4.x to version 5.x.
  1. Please read the Requirements before installing FileAudit.

  2. Make sure your latest license key, with up-to-date maintenance, is registered within the FileAudit settings. A FileAudit 4 license key with a valid maintenance will automatically work for FileAudit 5. Close the FileAudit console if open.

  3. Launch the installation process for the new version without uninstalling the previous one. All components will be automatically updated. After the installation is finished, the new version of FileAudit will be fully operational.

From version 3.x to version 4.x.
  1. Please read the Requirements before installing FileAudit.

  2. Make sure your latest license key, with up-to-date maintenance, is registered within the FileAudit settings. A FileAudit 3 license key with a valid maintenance will automatically work for FileAudit 4. Close the FileAudit 3 console.

  3. Launch the installation process for the new version without uninstalling the previous one. FileAudit 4 will be installed side-by-side with FileAudit 3. All audit settings from the old version will be imported into the new version.

  4. If the previously installed version 3 uses a Microsoft Access database, then all events stored in FileAudit v3 database will be copied and upgraded automatically in FileAudit 4.

    If your database was a Microsoft SQL Express or SQL Server database, you need to manually migrate the old database to the new version 4 if you want to retrieve old access events:

    • Duplicate/copy your old v3 database to create a new database.

    • Open FileAudit 4, click on the 'Settings' tile in the 'Tools' area and go into the 'Database' section.

    • Set the SQL Server database you just created using the database connection wizard. Follow the procedure requested to define the Microsoft SQL connection string.




    • FileAudit will then automatically upgrade your old database to the new version 4 structure allowing you to display old access events from v3 in addition to storing new events.

Take note: Don’t directly link the old database to the new version: once upgraded, you won’t be able to use this database with your old version 3 any longer. We advise you to create a copy of it and use this copy for the new version 4.


The two versions will work separately. Every change made in the audit's configuration or software settings after this installation will only impact the version from where the change is made.

To restore a previous installation of FileAudit:

  1. Follow the previous backup procedure before an upgrade.
  2. If you want to downgrade:
    • Uninstall the upgraded FileAudit
    • Copy the database files, Default.xml, scheduled report task files in the respective directories. Also, import the scheduled task in the Microsoft Task Scheduler (important, keep the name of the scheduled task when importing).
    • Install the previous FileAudit version